Posted on

My little Serpent

20140329-001707.jpg

I know what a lot of you are probably thinking when you see this photo:

‘Kill it!’
‘Its so close to your face!’
‘Snakes are evil!’
‘Gross how can you touch it?’
‘If that snake was in my house it’d be dead so fast.’

This is my little Stimsons python who me and my boyfriend named ‘Derpy’ because of the fact that she is hilariously goofy.

You can’t really tell from the picture, but she is a very small python. Stimsons pythons only grow to about a metre in length, my girl is probably only at the fifty centimetre mark, still a baby in my eyes. Hopefully this photo is better:

20140329-003331.jpg

^thats her next to an Australian 20c piece. Quite a little snake. πŸ™‚

What a lot of people don’t realise about snakes is how remarkably adaptable they are. This python has never tried to bite me, not once. I don’t think there’s anything that could make her bite me, unless she thought my fingers were food, which she never does.
Derpy is, in my eyes, the perfect pet. She isn’t aggressive, she doesn’t smell, she eats once a week (and her food is incredibly cheap), she poops outside when I put her on the grass, she is very interesting and, as you can see in the first photo, she is very inquisitive.

When I’m feeling down, I take her out and let her roam around on the bed. She has developed a liking for wrapping herself around my bracelets and watch, and just sitting there. She uses the very tip of her tail and moves it backwards and forwards on my arm, as if she’s petting ME. It’s comforting somehow, though I know she isn’t intelligent enough to even know she’s my pet, she has no idea what I am.

Everyone who meets my little python, no matter how scared of snakes they may be, they end up loving her to bits. My boyfriend was terrified of snakes for so long, he wouldn’t touch her on the drive home after we picked her up from the breeder. I ended up practically forcing the little thing into his hands, and hey presto! He loves her to bits now, he’s always taking her out and playing with her.

As an aspiring veterinarian, it saddens me to see people so happily kill snakes and other ‘evil’ animals, rather than accept that they are wild animals and can be removed by professionals, safely. I bet you didn’t know that a red belly black snake, one of Australia’s venomous snakes, makes a brilliant pet. You don’t believe me? Check out this video:

It’s the same as a lot of animals. Given the chance to live in the wild, they will all defend themselves, how vicious can wild/stray dogs be? Yet when we have them as pets, they learn not to bite or attack, you become part of their pack. They grow used to you, fond of you, they know you’re no danger. I know pythons aren’t even close to being as intelligent as dogs, but they’re at least intelligent enough to recognise you as a living thing that wont hurt them.

I’m not entirely sure what the purpose of this blog is, maybe to change a few peoples opinions about critters, maybe to teach you a thing or two about my little python. It saddens me to think that, given the opportunity, many people would stomp my little baby snake, my lovely, good natured pet, just because she’s a ‘slimy snake’.

If you’re going to be offensive, please don’t comment. This is for animal lovers, for people who appreciate life in all it’s forms. Including the form of evil, aggressive serpent πŸ˜›

Here’s my selfie with my evil, aggressive Derpy, I hope you enjoyed reading and if you have any questions about my little python, feel free to ask πŸ™‚

20140329-004748.jpg

Leave a comment